The Reunion of Sorts

Many days of planning
And at last it was here
To go or not go
I boarded the bus
With tingles in my stomach
Safer to take the bus there
No worries about my car
Hopped on and away
Jitters from anxiousness
I want to see my friends
At last, my stop
I get off the rotating bus
And walk steadying myself
Under the bridges, past the freeway
Into a side of the city
Familiar and yet not
The old garage, our old stomping grounds
Lots of talking inside
Of someone not wanting to talk
Or see someone…then silence
As I enter. I look over
And see one of my friends
With a baby. So adorable
Focused on the baby, I reach out
Hugging the baby
While taking a walk
With my friend
We walk over to the vines
And so many flowers
A buzzing noise
Hummingbirds, so many hummingbirds
And flutterbies flapping about
Singing and carrying on
Distracted by them
I must take and stay in this moment
This one beautiful moment
With friends and lovelies
I am in awe….
Until I wake up
It was just a dream
Now I wander where
Those friends are
And can I ever return
To that beautiful moment
…by Pauline Harris
Leave a Reply

