Tattered Memories

Collected over the many years
Photos, letters, and stories
Brought to light in passing
Sorting through boxes
Patiently wanting to know
More of our story, our history
Knowing so little growing up
People told such awful tales
I kept hoping to find the truth
And that our past was to be
Worthy of our loyalty
The tales of horrible tales
Kept me always wandering
Why people not only stayed
But praised joyfully about it
Confused most of my life
Until I found these items
Showing a different perspective
A new way to look past all
See how Love was truly
The answer to all my queries
Opening my Heartsmiles
Seeing joy filled beginnings
I know now the true meaning
Of being me is Love and Joy
By Pauline Harris

Leave a Reply

