Tales of Drinking To Find Self

Many had told tales
Of their drunken ways
So proud with no veil
They spoke of how happy
They were and how
Wonderful the feeling
Of being so free
Just to be themselves
For a little while
I thought it odd
How they could not
Be truly themselves
One day I decided
To give it a try
I drank this and that
Not a worry in sight
I was with some friends
And one who would drive
No drinking for him
Until we all were home again
The drinks were good
I walked kind of funny
My head was unclear
Which way was up
So know I understood
What all the tales
Were about, But
Still I pondered
That a true blessing
Was I could be me
Without the drink
And no need to hide
…by Pauline Harris

Leave a Reply

