Once Upon A Smile

Transplanted again-
This time, I wasn’t
quite sure of things-
As ridiculed always
for being different
and yet some seem to
envy- my speech, my clothes.
While others, just would
laugh disturbingly.
I carried on…learning
The new culture and all
the subtleties. Some offered
guidance and I welcomed
The new friends, but there was
One who was different.
Sickness plagued him,
And yet…He smiled.
His real father abandoned him,
And yet…He smiled.
His home was gone,
And yet…He smiled.
With him always was
A sense of hope…
Hope everlasting.
Gone now, but yet
His smile carries on
in everyone who ever met him.
Thank you for being such
a good friend. I miss you.
~pharris
Leave a Reply

