A Simple Longing

Quietly, I sit

and wait

to hear

the words

no one dears to speak

Silent still

I wait

for my heart

to hear

as if to gain

some insight

No one can say

what I need

to hear

Because the one

whom I need

to hear

the words

from is

no longer here

Gone and missed

my heart

knows

the love we

shared

is only between

ourselves

No one can

compare

No one can

know

For this love

is gone

and never

forgotten

A smile

is a reminder

of those days

long since

past

A stroke

of the pen

A brush

of some paint

Pictures and words

are just moments

we shared

Never to be replaced

A Simple Longing

~Pauline Harris

Leave a Reply

